Fox News to Feature St. Vladimir’s Orthodox Theological Seminary

January 15, 2010

[SVS Communications/Yonkers, NY] — The TV show “The Economic Report,” hosted by Greg Gumbel, will feature St. Vladimir’s Orthodox Theological Seminary, in Yonkers, NY, on Fox Business Network, Saturday, January 30, 2010. The program is part of a segment on trends and issues related to “Leading Developments in Faith Based Higher Education” as part of the show’s ‘Focus on Emerging Issues’ series.

The segment highlights St. Vladimir’s as an exemplary Christian institution that is making creative adjustments to the economic downturn. Recently, St. Vladimir’s established a “Going Green” campus initiative to provide a response to the growing ecological crisis and to address the issue of institutional sustainability.

“Orthodox Christianity ecologically involves the relationship with the inhabited earth, the human community, and the natural eco-system in which w e live,” says The Very Rev. Dr. Chad Hatfield, chancellor and CEO of the s eminary. “We are implementing sustainable practices across our twelve-acre campus, exploring alternative energy sources, and caring for God’s creation.”

Likewise, Very Rev. Dr. John Behr, dean of the seminary, notes, “Theology and education for ministry are not simply academic pursuits. An Orthodox theological education is far more encompassing and demanding than offered i n a typical institution of higher learning.”

Beyond being a graduate school of theology, the seminary is also a center for theological research and reflection. Established in 1938, the seminary prepares students for ministry as bishops, priests, deacons, lay leaders, and scholars in Orthodox churches in the U.S. and worldwide. Among its graduates are the current patriarch of the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church, His Holiness Abune Paulos, and the current head of the Orthodox Church in America, His Beatitude Metropolitan Jonah.

Airtimes for the program are: 2:30 p.m. ET; 1:30 p.m. CT; 12:30 p.m. MT; an d 11:30 a.m. PT.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: